What is it all about?
"Gluten intolerance" is the body's inability to digest foods that contain gluten-a naturally occurring protein found in wheat, barley, and rye, as well as many processed foods. Believed to be a genetic condition, gluten intolerance (also known as "celiac disease") occurs predominately in people of Northern European heritage, but can be found in any subset of the population. The only treatment for gluten intolerance is a lifelong gluten-free diet.
While gluten is mostly found only in wheat, barley and rye, these grains are so commonly used in processed foods that the list of foods containing gluten can grow quite long. However, living gluten-free can be made easier by first starting with a list of foods you enjoy and substituting for any ingredients that contain gluten.
Click here to learn more about Celiac's Disease and Gluten Sensitivity.
To learn more about foods that commonly contain gluten, click here.
Naturally Gluten-Free Foods:
- Rice, Quinoa, Buckwheat
- Nuts and seeds
- Fresh fruits and vegetables
- Legumes (beans and lentils)
- Unprocessed meats, poultry and fish
- Most dairy foods (check labels for fillers)
- Starchy vegetables (such as corn, potatoes, yucca, sweet potatoes)
While the information shared here is intended to serve as a resource, one of the most important steps in managing gluten intolerance is to seek out the counsel of a Registered Dietitian (RD) who specializes in management of the disease. To find an RD in your area or to learn more about the symptoms and treatment of the disease, visit: