You Can Eat This Cheese If You’re Lactose-Free

Cabot Cheddar: it’s a naturally lactose-free cheese!

Lactose is a natural sugar found in milk and dairy products that some folks have trouble digesting. If you’re lactose intolerant, have a lactose-sensitivity, or you cook or shop for someone else that does, you might be surprised to know that our natural aging process actually removes the lactose from Cabot Cheddar.

Try one of our delicious lactose-free dinner recipes tonight!

Most of the lactose present in milk is in the whey, which is then separated from the curds during the cheesemaking process. The natural aging process then breaks down any remaining lactose that could be leftover. Translation: you get to enjoy lactose-free Cabot Cheddars from a number of our collections! (Yep, we’re psyched about this fact too!)

Check out the classics like Vermont Sharp, our flavored options like Hot Habanero, and our Legacy line with cheddars like the Farmhouse Reserve.

Even better news for you? Other styles of aged cheese, like parmesan are also lactose-free. (Note: aging is the key.)

Click here to get our lactose-free 5-day menu planner.

The easiest way to check if a cheese is lactose-free is to read the Nutrition Facts panel. That’s where you can find just how much sugar is in the cheese. If there is no sugar—read, zero grams or “0g”—on the label, there is no lactose in that cheese. And you’ll only find zero grams of sugar, across the board, on Cabot Cheddars. Now, time to rest easy and break out that two-pound block of Cabot Cheddar.


Check out some of our favorite Lactose-Free Recipes:

Beet & Orange Salad with Cheddar


Cheesy Cauliflower Tots


Black Bean Veggie Burgers


Individual Chili Cheddar Meatloaves

 

Comments (6)

Brenda Thomas | May 09, 2018 | 4:12pm

I eat Cabot cheese all the time because it’s lactose free. Thanks. Did you all know that a lactose intolerant person can drink raw milk and eat products made from raw milk? Don’t foo with Mother Nature and you’ll be better off.

Daria | May 09, 2018 | 6:05pm

Someone told me that Cabot Cheese was lactose free and I have been purchasing it ever since. Unfortunately, not all your products are lactose free. It would be nice if there was a complete listing of your lactose free products.

    Rachael | May 10, 2018 | 4:03pm

    Thank you for the feedback Daria! Whenever it’s a cheddar that we make, it’s lactose free, but of course you can always check the icon on the packaging 🙂

Joseph Guarino | May 10, 2018 | 6:31am

These recipes are great, Thank you.

shari l norton | August 19, 2018 | 9:46am

Brenda Thomas, where can I get raw milk from do they sell in stores? Thanks

Tina | August 02, 2019 | 10:02am

Your muenster cheese is also lactose free!

Leave a Comment

Become a Cabot Insider