On every Nutrition Facts panel, you’ll find the amount of sugar in that food. If it says 0g, that means there’s no sugar – and no sugar in Cabot cheddar means it’s lactose-free cheese. To be sure our cheese is lactose-free, look for the Naturally Lactose-Free icon on the packaging of your favorite Cabot cheese products.Learn more about Cabot Cheese »
To start, it’s important to know that lactose is simply the natural sugar found in milk. To understand how cheese becomes lactose-free, first look to the cheesemaking process. To begin, curd is separated from whey (whey is where most of the lactose is). The curd eventually becomes cheese, and the whey is removed (and along with it goes most of the lactose). The small amount of lactose that remains in the curd breaks down over time as the cheese ages, resulting in an aged low-lactose cheese or lactose-free cheese. So, cheeses that undergo this natural aging process — like cheddar — contain little to no lactose.
Dairy foods provide important nutrients such as calcium, protein, riboflavin and phosphorus. Eating 3 servings of dairy foods everyday is the easiest way to get calcium in your diet.